CVRF's new shoreside processing plant in Goodnews Bay is providing jobs in the Lower Kuskokwim region.

Additional Links

Western Alaska Community Development Association

The formation of the Western Alaska Community Development Association (WACDA) was authorized in amendments to the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act in 2006. Federal statute (16 U.S.C. 1855(i)(1)(G) Administrative Panel) states that:

      (i)   There is established a community development quota program panel.

     (ii)   The panel shall consist of 6 members. Each entity participating in the program shall select one member of the panel.

    (iii)   The panel shall—

(I)   administer those aspects of the program not otherwise addressed in this paragraph, either through private contractual arrangement or through recommendations to the North Pacific Council, the Secretary, or the State of Alaska, as the case may be; and

(II)   coordinate and facilitate activities of the entities under the program.

    (iv)   UNANIMITY REQUIRED- The panel may act only by unanimous vote of all 6 members of the panel and may not act if there is a vacancy in the membership of the panel.

The Panel was established in 2006 as an independent nonprofit trade association to represent the six Community Development Quota entities that implement the Western Alaska Community Development Quota (CDQ) Program. WACDA is governed by a six-member board of directors.

WACDA Organizational Documents


WACDA Reports and Issue Statements

A summary of the CDQ program, aggregate investments by CDQ entities, and feature stories from each of the six CDQ entities that highlight programs and activities during 2011.